Collision Repair in San Bruno | Testimonials from Our Customers

 

At Gava's Auto Body, we are your specialist for collision repair in San Bruno, CA. Take a virtual tour of our auto body shop and read the testimonials below from our customers. Contact Gava's Auto Body about getting accident repair insurance estimates in San Bruno. We are your top choice got collision repair.

  • 5.0 star rating
    6/18/2014

    Love these guys. They do honest to God good detailed work. I've had my vehicles and friends vehicles painted here multiple times.  Ian helped multiple times and is great at explaining what needs to be done. Fantastic work and communication. I've had zero problems.

  • 5.0 star rating
    12/23/2013

    From start to finish, Chris delivered 5-Star service! I had parked at Linda Mar Shopping Center around Halloween: when I finally got back to my car someone had scratched the whole left passenger door up while I had been obliviously shopping (no note, no insurance info left). I immediately called AAA & shakenly described the situation. They recommended 5 auto body shops along with Gava's so I checked the reviews (I trust my fellow Yelpers!) and went with Chris. Not only did he make such a nerve racking experience a pleasant as could be, but he executed the entire transaction smoothly & quickly. He even helped me out with my Hertz rental car :).
    If we ever need auto body service again in the future, we're giving Chris all of our business! I just hope that he doesn't get too busy from all these great yelps!

    Thank you again, Chris -- keep up the GREAT service :)!

  • 5.0 star rating
    9/3/2013

    THE BEST! I took my car here after it got estimated at Chilton Autobody in Burlingame. I didn't like the vibe at Chilton so I yelped this place up. Chilton quoted me the price it would cost for old recycled car parts but Gava's took the time to look up OEM parts.

    I'm so SO grateful.

    Both the workers Chris and Kevin are the nicest, I'm young, naive, and a petite female so I'm the perfect candidate to rip off. I couldn't stop smiling after getting my car back!! I kept raving about it to everyone, made my day.

    My car looked to be in better condition than before even the collision. They cleaned up the interior and washed my car. Amazing!! Would take this back here with absolutely NO DOUBT if I was ever in an accident. Honest, hardworking, friendly and affordable. What the hell was I ever waiting for? :)

  • 5.0 star rating
    11/27/2013

    Chris and his staff did a wonderful job on the vehicle.  Great service and very professional.  The vehicle was washed and detailed upon pick up.  The car looks amazing.  Thank you!

  • 5.0 star rating
    9/9/2013

    Gava's is the best Auto Body shop I've ever been to over all these years and several accidents later -- PERIOD!  They are exceptional due to their professionalism, honesty, helpfulness and their pricing is as reasonable as it can possibly be.

    Last weekend my car was hit (and run) for the millionth time in a mall parking lot, so I will be calling Gava's again today for help (and this is what made me think to write this long overdue and well-deserved review!)  

    I've got a 2004 Acura that lived on the streets of San Fran for 8 years, and Oakland for 3 and now the Pennisula and the car looks much younger than it is only because of Gava's!  

    My one and only wish is that Gava's also get into the car engine repair business as well.  They are so trustworthy that if they also did car repairs, I'd use them for that too in a flat heartbeat!

  • 5.0 star rating
    3/23/2014

    This is the third time I've brought my car here. Loved their work! Very professional and honest people. definitely recommend.

  • 5.0 star rating
    8/21/2012

    It's not every day that you hear somebody is in love with an Auto Body Shop....but I will openly admit that I am.  Let me count the ways:

    *  They know their stuff
    *  Informative--they kept me in the loop
    *  Quality, quality, quality!  They do the job RIGHT
    *  Friendly, personable and truly professional
    *  Timely

    ...And that's how a body shop earns 5 stars.  

    I had a jaw-dropping hit and run my car was left with 7k in damage and nobody to pay for it (I was suddenly overjoyed that I had insurance and my deductible would take care of it).   As per a friend's referral, I went to Gava's.  AND HOLY MACKEREL!  What should have been a painful experience was incredibly easy.  They took care of me from the moment I walked in their door, to the moment I drove off in my now perfect car!  The quality of job they did on her makes her feel brand new.  They even fixed some previous mistakes from work done on her before I had purchased her.  I think it was at this moment that I fell deeply in Auto-Body-Shop-Love with Gava's.

  • 5.0 star rating
    12/18/2012

    I just signed up for Yelp!, but two years ago I was so impressed with the work I had done at Gava's - which I found through Yelp! after my car was hit and run - that I told them when the day came that I signed up for Yelp! I'd write a review.... so this day has come, and I'm making good on my promise.

    I couldn't have asked for more from an Auto Body shop.  Great work, great price, and excellent communication throughout.  They gave me touch up paint to go which came in handy down the road as well!  An extra enthusiastic 5 stars.

  • 5.0 star rating
    1/19/2009

    These guys freaking rock! Im in love with the service they offer and their work.

    I had to take my car into this place twice.

    1st time was when someone ran into my back bumper and there was a huge dent, I brought it into the shop they took care of my man and they got my care looking new! They even hooked it up with a detail wash.

    2nd time some dummy ran into my car when it was parked in front of my house. Who does crap like that?! its like umm hello its a big bright white car you can't miss it.

    In love with the place I sent my baby back to them and they took care of everything. They called my insurance for me stress free car fix up got the baby looking like the day I bought it.

    I LOVE YOU GUYS KEEP UP THE GREAT SERVICE!

  • 5.0 star rating
    11/22/2009

    After all my rendezvous with the cops all summer long..getting into a car accident really was like the icing on a cake! I mean seriously can it get any better than that!??! after all the tickets n now a car accident!?!? I was beyond pissed at this point not to mention that it was not my fault at all. some drunk driver decides to take up my lane without seeing me in it and crash right into me! lovely right??

    Anyways, I searched on yelp to see which autobody shop would be reliable and honest in getting my car repaired. I stumble upon Gava's and all the wonderful reviews made it easier for me to decide that I want them to fix my car. I did not have AAA but Gava's was having this promotion where I bring in my car n if I spend more than $500 I will get a free rental car until my car is done..I was very happy with that deal. Sado was very friendly n helpful and that includes all of his staff :) he was great at keeping me updated on my car and he even changed the oil for me! they cleaned the inside car and made sure everything was good again...I was def one joyful lady when I got my car back! I would tell u the details on the major work that needed to get done with the car but I can't cuz I'm a girl. Yup I will use that as an excuse that I know nothing about cars :) hahhhhaha...

    I almost gave Sado a kiss that day! I wondered if he was married or had a girlfriend...well I only gave him a hug so its a safe bet that I did not cross any lines with him :) I def recommend this place if ur car needs a little fixin' and some lovin' too! Gava rocks!!

  • 5.0 star rating
    10/20/2012

    Once again I had a great experience with Gava's Auto Body.  My wife's car was hit and she got an estimate from the dealer, another body shop referred by a friend and Gava's.
      We used Gava's a couple of years ago and the same team is still there.  They prepared an estimate and after they presented it me, we compared their scope of work and pricing to the others.  Their pricing was more competitive and the scope of work at least the same as the others.
      Chris prepared the estimate, Kevin kept in phone contact with me as they did the work and Ian delivered the vehicle to me when the repairs where done.
      Again, great experience, great team and exceptional value.  You can do no better than Gava's Auto Body!

  • 5.0 star rating
    11/1/2007

    Me drive to mall in my new car.. Lady run stop sign... Hit my new car.  Me upset.. Lady know me upset.. Lady give me her insurance information... Me call Lady's insurance. Insurance company tell me to find body shop for repair.  Me call Gava because dealer who sell me new car say they good..   Lady's insurance say Gava okay to use.  

    Me take car to Gava.  Gava friendly.. Me leave car 2 days.. When me return car look new again.. Like magic stick was waved over car and take car back in time to when it was new.  Like Star Trek on t.v..

    Gava workers very friendly and work hard.  Me use Gava again if bad person hurts car again.

  • 5.0 star rating
    9/10/2010

    Gava's makes it alllll goood.

    I'd been lagging on getting my bumper fixed for the longest! Then it was starting to fall off, so I decided to follow up with my claim.  

    Gava's accepts AAA and from there they made a stressful experience into an easy one.  I got to leave the rentacar with them instead of taking it back, which was a big plus.

    Hassle free, great people, and a good looking bumper.

  • 5.0 star rating
    2/17/2009

    Sado is such a professional and courteous gentleman and I am actually ashamed that I am not going forward with fixing my bumper with him. However the budget is really tight.

    Anyway, my boyfriend took Tico the tC in and Gava did an estimate that told me I didn't need a new bumper, just a fix. To make it look brand spanking new, he estimated $500 and that included a detailed interior and exterior and his attempt to buff out scratches on another mishap on my rear driver side.

    He printed an estimate and my boyfriend gave my info. A few days later Sado called to follow up and see if I wanted to go forward. Such a cool guy, not pushy with getting the work done and definitely easy to speak with. He explained his lifetime guarantee policy, offered to stay after hours so I could pick up the car after work, discussed their shuttle service, etc etc and I was sold.

    Unfortunately, it took a bit of courage for me to pick up the phone and actually decline his services. I felt so bad, because I was looking forward to my car getting detailed and fixed under the watch of the good service I read on Yelp. If I was not nazi on my budget, or if the damage was worse than what it currently looks like, I'd have no hesitation coming here. Maybe after tax season... or if win the Lotto.

    Anyway. The preliminary research of finding auto body services is just as important as the final work. Though I never actually accepted the service, I still owe a great review on my experience with these guys.  Definitely a place to consider work for your car.

  • 5.0 star rating
    12/3/2008

    My car got smacked while it was parked at my friend's apartment building. Not knowing where to take my car, I did a search on auto body shops and went with the shop that had the highest rating and that shop was Gava's. Sabo was very professional and I've always said never trust a auto mechanic / body shop guy that doesn't have some cool tattoos and Sabo has some killer ones. Sabo handled everything for me, took pictures of my car, faxed the forms to the insurance company and even called them. I dropped the car off on a Friday and got it on Tuesday and wow, the car looked like new. They did a full body detail job on the car and cleaned it inside and out. Even did a front wheel alignment for free.

    Thanks Sabo, I totally recommend this shop to anyone needing to get their car fixed.

  • 5.0 star rating
    8/4/2010

    If I were to open up a body shop, the first thing I'd do is study Gava's operation quite closely and duplicate it.  There isn't an aspect that they falter on, as witnessed by all the other stellar reviews which drew me to them in the first place.  From start to finish it was a pleasant experience where I was well-informed throughout.  Chris gave his insight into what was worth fixing and what wasn't, and then detailed all of the costs and factors that go into it.  He also gave a discount for some work that wasn't covered by my insurance (paid out of pocket).  It turned out that Gava's quote was less than the other body shop my insurance required me to go to initially.

    Gava's delivered the car when promised and had even detailed the whole car so it was in the best shape I'd ever seen it.  Additionally, when I wanted more cosmetic work done Chris insisted on doing it as a "customer service" and didn't charge me for at least an hour or two of work.  Generally speaking it was a pleasure getting my car fixed there, they did a professional job and I walked away feeling great about the whole thing.  5 stars for sure, and now I know where to go if some idiot rear-ends me again...

  • 5.0 star rating
    11/22/2011
    2 check-ins here

    Ok, here is the deal, I will stop writing reviews for this place when I stop driving cars that get involved in accidents.  Now that we can all stand behind that statement, let us proceed forward with this review.

    The car that made its visit this time to the shop had an object (not an animal) on the road magically appear in front of it.  It was a dark object on a dark part of the 92 on a very dark night.  Therefore, the car ran over this object on its own accord and took some damage.  Unfortunately, whatever the object on the road was became something less of an object and more of debris after the incident.  Like a prudent person would do, the car was taken to Gava's.  The car was on the newer side and still was under warranty.  This posed an interesting dilemma as when parts get replaced, depending on where they came from, the warranty can start to fall apart.

    Under orders, the shop followed through with replacing anything they could with factory parts.  This was awesome, as the warranty was preserved and happiness spread throughout the land.  They delivered the car on the estimated due date which made my life even easier as I was not trying to hit a moving target with preparing to pick up the car.

    This shop also came through on other smaller jobs that fulfilled their customer service expectation and went extremely beyond that line.  There was a small cosmetic upholstery job that we asked if they could fix as well as a small chip in the bumper and a scratch on one of the chrome letters of the car's maker.  When I arrived at the shop today, the car looked as sexy as ever.  They managed to fulfill all of the super minor cosmetic jobs off the books in addition to repairing the damage to the front of the car from the phantom object.  They were very courteous in every aspect and exceeding every expectation I could possibly throw at them.  Once again Gava's is THE body shop to take your car to.

    They definitely won my repeat business but hopefully that business won't happen anytime soon.  :-)  :-)

  • 5.0 star rating
    12/29/2011

    I'm giving Gava's a 5-Star rating based on a few aspects.  1) Quality of their work, 2) Customer Service, and 3) Not feeling like they penny-pinched me.

    I came to Gava's because I backed into a cement pillar and broke off my driver's side mirror and dented/scratched my door.  I explained that I would not be going through insurance (long story- cheaper in the long run to pay out of pocket).  Ian Palmer (super easy guy to chat with) said he would help me with labor costs.  Which I do believe he did and for that I am very appreciative.   I was worried about getting back and forth to work and Ian suggested not only could they give me a ride back to my house (no charge) but set me up with a rental car.  When my car was finished, they washed and detailed it for me and then never charged me for my rental car!  I also didn't have to take the rental car back myself, Gava's did it all for me.  

    I will take all my vehicles to Gava's in the future! (let's hope it's not many times for the sake of my wallet)

    No brainer, go to Gava's!

  • 5.0 star rating
    3/28/2011

    Amy is a good personnel but the person that relieved her is not. Don't trust anybody on returning your rental key or else the car rental will overcharge you. Service is ok but that passdown is not. (Correction down)

    This is a correction of my first paragraph comment. Still a very helpful AMY when I follow up my problem. I misunderstood about their explanation why my refund was not process  right away. It was not their fault. It was the car rental company that gives services to their customer. This is a good company and friendly personnels. My apology for the first comment.  I will recommend you to my other friends and still come back for your services.

  • 5.0 star rating
    9/1/2009 Updated review

    I'm not gonna lie...

    I have a super huge crush on Sado.

    But who wouldn't love a guy who makes sure your car is perfectly taken care of as soon as you drop it off with him?  Chris is usually busy but it doesn't matter.  I never have to worry.

    Thank you Gava's!

    5.0 star rating
    10/27/2008 Previous review
    As much as I LOVE Gava's, I really wish I didn't get to write as many reviews for them....

    After…
    Read more
    5.0 star rating
    9/11/2008 Previous review
    Thank you, once again, for making my car look as good as it did in 1995.  My dad had no idea :)
    5.0 star rating
    3/18/2008 Previous review
    They are amazing in every way!  Several years ago, my father had Gava's replace the entire rear end… Read more
  • 5.0 star rating
    9/16/2010

    Gava equals great and will be coming here for any body work!  HKB called about ten places recommended on the BMW forums for his bumper.  The cheapest quote was for work under the table and without installation, so we wanted to stay way clear of such shady operations.  Gava gave the best price (only $25 more than the questionable shop) for both paint and installation.  Beautiful job, and HKB loves his ride!

    My driver's side door has a lot of wind noise due to me breaking off my side mirror on a cement pillar, so we had Chris take a look at it while there.  Adjustments are absolutely free!  I took it in today, and they fixed one of two problems (new side mirror wasn't flush).  The other issue needs a replacement part, so I'll be back if there's still issues.

    Other random notes: Chris is incredibly nice and we had a few good laughs on account of my silliness.  Gava has yummy chocolate-y goodness in their candy jar that you can consume while looking at their beautiful aquarium.

  • 5.0 star rating
    1/2/2011
    1 check-in here

    AAA recommended me to this shop after some douchebag reversed into me.

    The staffs are well-trained, knowledgable, and extremely friendly. They made the entire process a breeze. From renting a car at Hertz, to picking it up. Lastly, unlike most auto shops, they are really precise with their expected completion date. Loves this place, but hopefully I won't have to be back anytime soon !! ;D

  • 5.0 star rating
    4/13/2010

    Long story short, friend broke my side view mirror. Friend's brother referred me here. Couldn't bring my car in the shop, but they were very accommodating and made life very easy for me. THANK YOU!! Even though it took me forever to find the place because I've never been around that area, the awesome service made up for everything. Gosh, if I ever get into an accident, I know where to go.. hopefully I wouldn't need to though.

    Thank you for helping this incompetent girl unscrew her license plate to stick her new registration sticker on too. Heheh.

  • 5.0 star rating
    11/23/2010
    1 check-in here

    Just my luck, I was picking up my friend from her apartment on Halloween. Some numb-nut backed into my car and didn't leave a note but instead left a gnarly scratch and dent.

    What's even more awesome is that the bumper got progressively worse. I finally filed a claim with state-farm who let me know I could go where-ever I wanted.

    Hmmm.....well that leaves me a lot of room for error.

    Thank God for Yelp. After seeing Gava's had a butt load of reviews I decided to bring my baby here. Amy was super nice and told me they would order my parts immediately and call me when finished.

    I needed the car ASAP for my trip down to San Diego and Amy assured me it would be done before take off. When Amy called me I was in heaven! Picked it up the morning of departure and I fell in love all over again! SHE LOOKED GORGEOUS!!! AND SHE WAS CLEAN!!! AHHHHHHH. (The car I mean. Not Amy.)

    I guess Amy is pretty too. And clean.

    I'll totally be coming back if someone runs into me again.

  • 5.0 star rating
    12/30/2009

    I'm always skeptical whenever going to an auto body shop b/c they know that I know absolutely NOTHING about cars.  Therefore, I always feel like I have to have my dad with me or my "boyfriend" on the phone just in case I am told I need new windshield wipers, air filter, transmission, etc. Sigh.

    HOWEVER, Gava's Auto body is the COMPLETE opposite of those stereotypical swindling places.  They actually SAVED me money.  They were really honest, easy to talk with, and very professional.  Not only did they fix and repaint my car door, they even saw some dents and scratches in other areas and fixed those at no extra charge.

    Thanks for keeping it real guys!  

    Oh and they have this cool aquarium too!

  • 5.0 star rating
    3/22/2011

    My car got backed into while parked on the street.  Amazingly, the lady who hit me came into the shop and announced that she had backed into a Subaru.  

    I did a search on Yelp to find an auto body shop that was open on Saturday and Gava's popped up.  Amy was fantastic.  She arranged everything with the insurance company so that when I dropped the car off, a rental car was waiting for me, and they were able to provide an estimate right away.

    My car was done a couple of days later and I was able to leave the rental there for Hertz to pick up.  My hood looks great and my car is clean since they washed and vacuumed it.  Gava's made an annoying situation almost painless.

  • 5.0 star rating
    6/10/2013

    I needed to have some minor fender repair work done on my Prius V and armed with my list of top Yelp auto body shops in the San Bruno area did a little price comparison.  I can honestly say that it was hard to choose between all the shops I visited - all were run by courteous and nice people and had highly comparable quotes.  I ended up going with Gava's simply because they gave me the lowest price and they ended up being very professional, getting the job done in the time that they quoted.

  • 5.0 star rating
    3/1/2012

    These guys are awesome!  I got in a little fender bender a couple of weeks ago that didn't interrupt the driving of my car but left my fender wedged over my passenger door making it impossible to open.  I found them on Yelp hoping to seek help to get my door to open but wasn't quite ready to make the jump for a repair seeing as it is a 10+ years old A to B'er.  

    I called and they had me come over right away.  They had me pull the car in and before I even had a moment to start idle chit chat and to even get either of their names my car door was opened!  I asked one of them how much I owed for their time & he stuck out his hand to shake it!  Amazing!  I no longer have to have my girlfriend climb over the seats from the driver's side anymore & my friends don't have to have me drive them around like Ms. Daisy!  

    I know these guys would do great work if I had an auto body repair in the future and if I can scare up a few hundred I am definitely coming back to them to upgrade my hooptie to a solid A to B'er with a fresh new fender!  Thanks a bunch Gava!

  • 5.0 star rating
    5/5/2008

    Gava's Auto Body = GOD!

    I got rear ended and got a recommendation to send my car over to Gava's. I dropped off my car and in TWO DAYS, I got it back with a new bumper and a snazzy new spoiler. The work was AMAZING.

  • 5.0 star rating
    11/1/2008

    Quality work and great service! I would highly recommend Gava's.
    It wasn't a good start of the week when I hit the side of my car onto the concrete wall of the parking's ramp. The hit was so loud that I didn't even dare to step out and examine. There was a very big dent on the right panel of my car.
    Gava's did a fantastic job not only fixing my car, they also went over the details of the repair and advised you the insurance claim process. They were very professional and easy to work with.
    They also checked other components that might get affected and have life-time guarantee of their work.
    My car is looking better than ever thanks to Gava's!

  • 5.0 star rating
    2/2/2012

    Customer service : Excellent
    Delivery : Earlier than promised
    Price: half the price of what I received from other auto body shops
    Workmanship - EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT.
    There is absolutely no trace of the repaired damage.
    My BMW looks like new!

  • 5.0 star rating
    9/7/2010

    Verdict:
    If my car gets smashed, take it to Gava Autobody.

  • 5.0 star rating
    2/19/2011

    Customer service gurus.  

    Hands down the best customer service experience I have ever had.  The owner and staff should receive a medal for their excellence.

    Courteous.  Professional.  Timely.  They kept me in the loop every moment, they dealt with the insurance company, and they went above and beyond their role as a body shop (they cleaned my car!).

    Gava's is a customer service legend.  Highly recommended.

  • 5.0 star rating
    3/9/2011
    3 check-ins here

    2010 was not Luna Moonchild's year.

    She endured the Nine Minute Oil fiasco all spring and then she was attacked by a lady in a Toyota that left her poor bumper hanging off and her interior stained with coffee.

    Enter my bf, Seamus H, who thinks I never take his advice, even though I usually do- unless it's stupid.  So I take his advice and I confirm with my fellow Yelpers; Gava's will be amazing and treat my precious vehicle with the utmost respect.

    Amy, the face of Gava's, immediately took over with my insurance.  She resolved issues that they refused to settle with me, she had a rental car waiting for me and she really took the stress out of the entire situation.  THANK YOU AMY!!!

    Whomever worked on my car did a phenomenal job, even fixing dings that a previous body shop had screwed up with the wrong paint.  

    Luna Moonchild's dignity was completely restored and I think she was so proud she even drove a little better.

    However I'm not sure if 2011 is her year either.  Perhaps it's not mine...we have new dings to clean up and I know just the people to do the job....

  • 5.0 star rating
    1/10/2012

    My 2005 Volvo V50 was rear ended pretty badly on 280 in SF. It wasn't drivable from the scene, so had to be towed on a flat bed to my house on the Peninsula. After quite a few calls around I chose Gava's for a couple reasons. Clearly they have a strong reputation on Yelp. Their service manager Chris was also the most responsive person I talked with and seemed like he'd be completely on top of communication.

    Gava's were happy to tow my car from San Mateo up to their shop on a flat bed, and then did a really great job on the repairs. Chris took photos of my car and sent them to me after they took the car apart and as they put it back together. He called at least once a week to let me know how progress was going, too, without me having to bug him for updates. I think they also paid for an extra week of rental car for me, but that might have been because of a delay with a part they ordered. Most importantly the work they did was excellent - totally indistinguishable from the rest of my car (which is in excellent condition). There have been no creaks or rattles, nor any impact to road handling, in the year since the work was done. I couldn't have hoped for anything better after $12,000 worth of damage was done to the back of my car.

    I'll definitely go to Gava's again if I have to, no additional research needed.

  • 5.0 star rating
    5/3/2011

    This body shop deserves every star and more.

    My boyfriend's car was rear-ended while parked on the street. No note. I originally filed a claim with our insurance company but the person who hit our car showed up at our doorstep the next morning admitting to what she did.

    I called a few of my friends and I was referred here. Amy provided us with exceptional customer service from the moment we walked in to the time we picked up our car. She dealt with the other party's insurance company and kept us updated with everything.

    Our car was done in a week and the bumper is so shiny and new. They even washed our car. We are more than happy with the service Gava's have provided to us. I will recommend this body shop to all my family and friends.

  • 5.0 star rating
    11/20/2010

    Gava's was great.  They took care of my little run-in with the garage wall with hubby's car (you know how those walls jump out at you from nowhere!).  I got estimates from a few places and their quote was the lowest.  The other places quoted me more work hours & their cost per hour was higher.  They did a fantastic job - looks brand new.  They even detailed the car upon pickup!

    (Am hoping I don't have to go there again anytime soon, though.)

  • 5.0 star rating
    6/7/2013

    Got into a little fender bender in my new Lexus RX450h (okay okay it's 2 years old, but still looked brand new and has the new car smell) and was absolutely devastated.  After all the careful planning out of where I'm going, the parking situation there, and trying to park in the best spot my baby got a ding on the front right bumper.  It was scratched and scuffed and the paint came off a few areas.  I got a quote at some place in Pleasanton as well, but Gava's was the best price, and after seeing all of the positive reviews, I went for it.  I'm amazed.  I've never had anything done on my cars before, but WOW.  She looks brand spanking new!  Now I know where to take all my cars should the need ever arise again (please please please don't arise!!!).  Thanks for the awesome work and quick turnaround guys!

  • 5.0 star rating
    5/14/2009 Updated review

    Another idiot hit my baby at a Safeway parking lot. Where did he learned to drive? Who knows. Anyway took my car to Gava's again were they did a phenomenal Job. Sado was very nice kept me informed on the status of my baby.

    I will recommend this place 120% they are very professional and will not rip you off. I have taken my brothers Camaro their and he was very happy with their work.

    GAVA'S IS A GREAT BODY SHOP

    5.0 star rating
    10/30/2007 Previous review
    I unfortunately had a accident on my 2000 Firebird Trans Am. Some idiot speeding on the freeway hit… Read more
  • 5.0 star rating
    8/4/2010

    My car had been dinged a couple times and needed some work done. I took my car into Gava's shop through referral from, " the shop" (nextdoor) and from Yelp reviews.

    5 stars all the way. I'd give them 10 stars if yelp would let me.

    First of all, I know nothing about cars. I'm a total girl when it comes to that. WIth that said, they took complete care of me and made me feel super comfortable in trusting them to do the job right. They excelled and went above and beyond my expectations and what AAA was going to cover for the recent accident.

    Do yourself a favor, take your car here. You will not be dissapointed.

    They detailed my car, changed my headlights, buffed out all prior damage and made my car look new!! Check this out... they even vaccuumed my Hertz rental car (I have a dog) so that I wouldn't get charged an extra fee....at no extra charge! WOW

    TAKE YOUR CAR HERE. They are fast, affordable and extremely accomodating.

    ps. I forgot to mention how they coordinated the rental car to arrive at the same time I dropped off my car AND they offered to drop off my car and pick up the rental at my own home. BLESS THEIR HEARTS :)

  • 5.0 star rating
    3/27/2011
    1 check-in here

    This auto body shop really deserves 5 stars.  I'd give them more if I could.  I was recommended here by a friend and bought my car in after I got rear ended.  My experience from the beginning to end was just great.  From the time I got it estimated until when I got my car back, Amy provided exceptional customer service. She handled everything with my insurance company and always kept me in the loop with updates.

    My 10 year old car looked brand new when I got it back. They replaced the back bumper, painted the front scratches, cleaned and even detailed it for free!  They really did exceed my expectations.  

    I've been to other repair shops and none of those compare to Gava's.  From now on, this will be the only place I will bring my car to.

  • 5.0 star rating
    6/4/2011

    What to look for in a bodyshop . . .
    -stand by their work with integrity
    -cleanliness of shop and waiting area
    -timeliness and delivery on promised date
    -customer service being responsive

    I don't write many reviews but I had to write one for Gava's.  I had damage on my passenger side due to a hit and run.  I brought my car in and got a good estimate from Chris.  He was willing to work with me since it was coming out of pocket.  

    I dropped the car off before I went out of town and was promised completion in a week.  The car was done early and I picked it up when I got back.  It looked pretty good but after I left the shop and upon closer inspection, there were some paint issues.  I brought it back to Chris and he decided to repaint it and provide me a rental car.  Due to previous work from other shops on the repair area, Chris couldn't guarantee his work without stripping out the old material.  

    It was unfortunate that my car couldn't be fixed to both Chris and my high standards without costing considerably more.  I appreciate Chris's honesty and hesitation to promise something he may not be able to deliver.  It's this type of integrity and service that is extremely hard to find.  I'm glad I went to Gava's and they absolutely deserve the 5 stars.  Future business will be going to Gava's.

  • 5.0 star rating
    10/24/2007

    I just went to Gava's Auto Body for the first time and was very very impressed. I (stupidly) drove too close to stationary object and destroyed my passenger side rear-view mirror.  I visited Gava's Auto Body that day and they ordered a new mirror for me. The part came in noon the following day and they fixed my mirror, good as new, later that afternoon!  Talk about EFFICIENT!!! They even washed my car for me afterwards. :)

    In the past, I went to Magnussen Car West Auto Body and I called them first after the incident. (They were the only auto body shop I've ever been to in the Bay Area.)  When I called Magnussen, they told me they could only schedule me in for an estimate the following week. (!?!)  I'm not even talking about doing the actual work...no, they told me it would take them a week just to have someone eyeball the damage.  That is totally nuts.

    Gava's Auto Body makes you feel like you're getting personalized service 100% of the way. Chris helped me and he was incredibly great to work with.

    A++++ sevice all the way. I highly recommend them.

  • 5.0 star rating
    11/22/2008

    This shop does superb work! The people here, especially Sado, really take care of you get work done. I brought my car here after I ran into a gaurd rail and completly destroyed the passenger side of my car. Being a tuner and an enthusiast in the Euro Car Scene, I decided I was going to get some other work done as well.

    They had my 2002 Audi A4 looking brand new! Fender work was superb, paint job was clean and all the extra work was brilliant. They took a european bumper I provided and did some fabrications to make it sit flush and align well with my front end. They also took the time and cleaned up some other scratches and dings around the car without me even asking.

    I was impressed and will definatly be bringing my car back here for more body work! They even had a guy finishing up the wax job and polishing up the ride when I arrived, it was a nice site to see! Props to Sado and the guys at Gava's!

  • 5.0 star rating
    3/4/2013

    I needed to fix my hood that was damaged on the lower right side.  I went to 3 different body shops to get an estimate and all of the shops told me that the hood needed to be replaced, because the hood was made of Aluminum... on a BMW 745 LI.  Of course this was not going to be a simple affair.
    Then I stumbled over Gava's Autobody on Yelp and I was blown out by all the great recommendations they had.  I called them and showed them the area that needed to be fix and Ian, one of the managers told me that they could fix it.  I have to say that I was a little bit perplex due to the fact that I was told by another big name body shop that the hood needed to be replaced.
    Finally, after much hesitation, I decided to have the work done at Gava's.  Ian stayed in touch with me and then the day before I had to go pick up the car, he called me.  Holly Molly, they had fixed the hood and Gava's Autobody saved me money and did an outstanding job.   The repair that they did was flawless; they even touched up some areas of my car that had scratches at no cost.  I was really blow away by the service, the value of the work they did, how my hood look new, and the fact that they excided all my expectations.
    Have I know before, I would have taken my car here for the other work that I had to do in the past.  Give them a shot, you won't be disappointed.   Thank you to all the other yelpers for helping me find another gem.

    They deserved all the 5 Stars and more!!!  Thank you Ian!

  • 5.0 star rating
    6/24/2011

    Laid my bike down once and went to Gava to fix the scratches, the owner (the chinese guy :) fixed them himself with some nice compound for absolutely free :)

    Went there again this afternoon to purchase a bit of those stuff so I can make my bike showroom cond. before selling it. He packed a little bottle nicely FOR FREE again lol. I don't know how to thank him. I offered to pay but he insisted :) I can tell that this shop does high quality work at low price, staff are very friend especially the owner himself, I thought he was an employee the first time lol, the front desk gal is hot as hell as well :)

  • 5.0 star rating
    6/9/2012

    Yes, the owner Chris is hands on with his customers.  He and Ian (manager) are personable, accomodating and honest.  They go above and beyond to help their customers.  I needed a rental car and the manager at Hertz also said that Chris is a nice owner; a pleasure to work with.  Thanks both of you for all your efforts.
    Carrie b.

  • 5.0 star rating
    12/19/2013

    Chris Wu is great.  My brand new KIA RIO was rear ended.  My insurance company Liberty Mutual recommended Gava's Auto Body.  I bought my car in.  Chris told me he would look at it and send me the estimate.  He called Enterprise Rent-a-car for me.  He sent me my estimate.  He ordered brand new parts from KIA.  He called me to let me know the car was ready for pick up.  My car looked great.  Great service!!!

  • 5.0 star rating
    11/11/2012
    5 check-ins here

    I have been coming here for awhile to get both company car and my personal car fixed.  They have done an amazing job every time.  Chris (owner) is a really nice guy and sadly, he knows me by name because I've had to pay him way too many visits before.  Ian is one of the other guys that helped me out recently when my bmw got hit by an uninsured and unlicensed driver.  Both mercury insurance and the bodyshop were so easy to deal with.

  • 5.0 star rating
    12/31/2013

    My Honda was severely damaged by a hit and run driver.  The insurance company referred me to six nearby auto body shops including Gava's.  I went with Gava's based on the Yelp reviews and ratings.  And I was glad I did.  From start to finish they were very, very professional.  Gave a very detailed list of needed repairs.  Great communication throughout the process.  Threw in some extras such as headlight polishing and scratch removal.  They know what they're doing and bent over backwards to accommodate my needs.  Am now recommending them to friends for auto body work.

  • 5.0 star rating
    3/25/2010

    Chris Wu, I must say a really great guy. I called in before and asked to make sure if I could come in for an estimate and he said it was fine. Came in he took a look at my car (performance tires and rain caused me to hydroplane and  hit a guardrail pretty bad) and had an estimate within 10 minutes! The last person I took it to, lasted about an hour! He was really down to earth about getting my car fixed and gave me a pretty good deal because I was paying out of pocket. Bring your car to these guys if you ever get into an accident, you won't regret it.

    Update: My car was in their shop for about 2 weeks, a little off from what Chris said how long it was supposed to take, but hey, it was an estimate and they are working on a bunch of other cars, so they're busy guys. Anyways, he was great enough to update me almost every other day to tell me what was up with the car. I was very excited to finally see my car back on the street again, the results to my car was amazing, and these guys put a smile back on my face. I trusted them with my car, and you should, too!

  • 5.0 star rating
    9/25/2012

    I had some minor damage to my back bumper I wanted fixed.  I found Gava's through a Yelp review for another shop.

    Service: 5 Stars
    ============
    I worked with Ian.   He did the estimate for me and was very straightforward about the work that was going to be done and the costs.  He did a good job explaining to me the difference between properly fixing and painting the bumper versus a shortcut repair job.  He was also happy to answer any questions I had regarding the repair before and after I dropped the car off.  
    Hertz was taking a very long time to come pick me up so that I could rent a car from them so instead of making me and my family wait he had one of his guys drive us to Hertz.

    Value: 5 Stars
    ===========
    The estimate came in  $140+ LESS than other less reputable shops and the turnaround time was 1.5 days less than other shop estimates which also saves me money on car rental expenses.

    Shop: 5 Stars
    ===========
    Shop is well kept, clean, and well equipped without being overly pretentious.  The waiting room is comfortable.  The actual shop itself seems well equipped with seemingly newer equipment.

    Workmanship: 5 Stars
    =================

    Car looked great.  Paint was nice and smooth and matched the rest of the paint perfectly.  No evidence there was ever any damage to the bumper.   Ian made sure that I inspected the repairs and that I was happy with the results before I took the car.

    Overall rating:  5 stars
    =================

    Overall the entire experience was very smooth and pleasant.   I have recently had some bad experiences with some shops like Eric Pennington Auto Body in San Mateo and B2 Perfection in Sunnyvale.   Both other shops I had to return the car to them several times to correct mistakes.   I am happy to say that Gava's got it done right the first time and did a great job.

    Constructive criticisms:
    =================

    Your estimate parking sign is a bit hard to see when you've never been to the shop before.  The way the parking is set up it is a bit confusing if you can park there or not.  I'd suggest trying to do something to make it more obvious that you can park your car there for estimates.

    Stock some non dairy creamer for your complimentary coffee =)

    Those are really the only criticism I can think of for this shop.

    I would definitely come back and recommend them to my friends and family.

    Thanks Gava team for a job well done!

  • 5.0 star rating
    12/19/2013 Updated review

    Yet another 5 star experience. Thought I could make it to the end of the year without seeing them again, but fortunately for them I got hit again. It's bad when they know you by name. Chris knows everything about how insurance works and figured out the most efficient way to get the paperwork through. He kept me up to date on the repairs and was very helpful throughout the process as usual. He is great. Ian is always very friendly and helpful. I didn't even bother checking the repair when I picked the car up. I looked when I got home and they even fixed up a separate dent not related to the accident. The only problem is that I can smell fumes inside the car probably from the paint materials. They will probably go away over time as I air out the car.

    5.0 star rating
    3/19/2013 Previous review
    I missed a third party phone survey conducted by AAA asking me to review Gava's, so I figured the… Read more
  • 5.0 star rating
    3/24/2013

    I had a great experience at Gava's Auto Body. I needed to fix a ding on my Corolla and reached out to several South San Francisco area repair shops to get a quote, describing the damage and sending them a photo I had taken with my phone. Gava's Auto Body got back to me quickly with an estimate, letting me know that they would need to see the car in person to finalize. I selected them because of their efficiency and great and professional customer service on the phone. They set realistic expectations for when my car would be ready and kept me informed when there were updates, and ultimately did a great job on my car.

    It never feels good when you have to go a repair shop, but Gava's Auto Body really helped take the hassle out of it. Their location is convenient to BART and their positive attitude made me want to do business with them in the future (although I do hope I don't need to). The week my car was in the shop, I also experienced a death in the family and the no-stress and caring atmosphere really helped make a difference during a hard time (and they didn't even know what was going on). I highly recommend Gava's Auto Body.

  • 5.0 star rating
    12/31/2011

    Im not the type to post reviews, but after dealing with Gava's Autobody this week, I was amazed to see such honesty, kindness and workmanship.

    My wife's Jeep had a pretty bad impact on the drivers side back door, I did a hunt around the area for quotes and i will say that Gava's was not the most affordable but the first impression i got from Chris Wu and his service when i got my estimate really paid off.

    I returned the vehicle to get it done, and during the time it spent at the shop, I was updated in a very timely manner each day on the vehicles progress, i didn't have to call once.

    To add to the excellent service i got, they offered to pay for my rental car for the 4 days and also Chris dropped it back to the rental company for me as well

    I wished they had more stars to review for this Autobody shop.

    Its nice to know they are still honest people out there with kind hearts, and not the usual prick that wants to poke your eye out for a dollar bill.

    Thanks GAVA , Thanks CHRIS !!

  • 5.0 star rating
    4/30/2010 Updated review

    Been back to get a few dings and broken locks looked at. They still rock!!

    5.0 star rating
    3/28/2006 Previous review
    We had some car damage, well, I accidently bumped into a neighbors car.    Our insurance sent us to… Read more
  • 5.0 star rating
    3/2/2011

    I LOVE this place. I was looking for a body shop to do some work on my car. I went to 3 different places for quotes. Gava's was the only one I had confidence in AND their quote was 1/3 less what I got at the other 2 places.  Amy, was so patient and very helpful.  My quote was what I paid, no hidden charges.  Two bonuses, they detailed my car and I got a free car rental for the week since my repair was over $1,000.  I would highly recommend this place for the females (like myself) who always feel like they are going to get ripped off (and so often do) by auto shops.

  • 5.0 star rating
    3/27/2012

    I only came in for an estimate but was already very impressed with the service I was given.  I find it hard to trust anyone with car repairs nowadays but I left this place feeling like I was given an honest estimate.  Ian was courteous and didn't pressure me at all.  I chose not to go with the repairs because I figure it was probably time to replace my car.  I will definitely go back to this place for my car repair needs in the future.

  • 5.0 star rating
    8/28/2012

    A valet driver broke my passenger side rearview mirror and I was desperate to get it fixed ASAP.  I called Gava's after reading all the positive reviews on Yelp and got a very fair quote to replace it ($150 less than what my Nissan dealership quoted).  Ian was super friendly and helpful, even after several phone calls back & forth due to the valet driver initially refusing to pay for it.  After the valet guy finally agreed to make payment, Gava's was able to replace my mirror in a timely fashion and even gave me the leftover paint for touch-ups.  They were very professional and did a great job, and I would highly recommend to anyone.  I would definitely bring my car back for future repairs.  Thanks Gava's!

  • 5.0 star rating
    11/28/2007

    I had a stupid accident and needed minor body work done so I turned to the all knowing Yelp to look for cheap, reliable and quality work and found Gava's.  They were so nice, and professional.  Kept me in the loop about my car repairs and the haggling with the insurance company.  I dropped it off on a Friday and got it back Tuesday.  They even cleaned and detailed my ride...  go here when you need some body work.  Ask for Sado.

  • 5.0 star rating
    7/31/2010

    I've come here twice now.  First because someone smashed into the front of my car and this time because a neighbor had side swiped my driver side mirror.  Gava is consistently awesome.  I didn't have insurance to cover the repairs both times.  Luckily Chris gave me the best rates of any autobody shop I called.  With the first crash my car came out looking better then before the accident.  With the second accident they fixed the mirror in 15 mins, and I got a nice ice cold lemonade while I waited.  I've sent my friends here, and all of them love Chris.  One of the few mechanics that don't make me dred taking my car in.  I wish they were more then just a body shop.  Would bring my car here for everything.  Gava has 5 solid stars for good reasons.

  • 5.0 star rating
    11/7/2010

    I took my Prius in for rear bumper replacement.  Both Amy and Chris were super friendly and helpful.  Amy provided exceptionally attentive service: arranged all the paperwork with AAA, and even reserved a rental car for me!  2 days later they called me for picking up my car, and the alignment of the bumper was PERFECT, just like how it used to be before the accident.  They even cleaned and waxed my car.  I was very very impressed with their service!!

  • 5.0 star rating
    3/20/2008

    I read about Gava here a few months ago.  My mini cooper needed a new door and back panel, and it happened that my insurance covered it.  I have been so impressed with their service!  The car came out great, but I had one small problem with the door,  so I brought it back, and they fixed it in two seconds.   Then, a few months later, I discovered that I couldn't lower my back seat (I sometimes need to get my massage table to other people's houses) and since it was on the same side as the new door and back, I thought maybe something had gone wrong.  I called them yesterday, (they still remembered me and my Mini!), brought it by today, had 3 guys out there trying to figure it out and we discovered it had been locked!  These guys will do whatever you need and they do it gracefully and quickly!  Yeah Gava!

  • 5.0 star rating
    1/17/2010

    Gavas changed my perception of autobody shops. Excellent customer service, flawless repair. Sado took good care of my problem. Will be back again if it is deemed necessary.

  • 5.0 star rating
    12/6/2010

    Bumper was almost falling off after I hit on the Garage door. Went in on a Saturday and they didn't have time to do the fix. All I need is to get the bumper out, push out the dent and put it back. I couldn't stop by or drop off during the day, so the technian Steve told me to stop by early in the morning before the store opens.
    Steve got it fix in 20 minutes. Best of all, he refuse to charge me, (yes, he is doing this off the company clock for FREE) and even better, He noticed the front grille is loose. and fix that.  He even polish the bumper trying to get the stain marks off.
    Amazing. Steve is not even the owner of this shop.. This place must treat employee and customers right. Deserve a 10 star.

  • 5.0 star rating
    1/10/2011 Updated review

    It's been over a year since I've been here and that's because I haven't had a need for their services...until today.  I came here to fix a minor, but yet annoying problem on my car.  Something is wrong with my car's front passenger door and it can't be opened from outside when unlocked, only from the inside.  

    Upon my arrival, the office was clean and organized just as I remembered it to be.  They have new staff since the last time, but I still received the same familiar friendly service that I am used to when I come here.  I was greeted with a smile and my presence was acknowledged immediately by Amy.  I then explained my problem and she went to the back to get Steve.  I explained my problem to Steve and he was on it immediately.  Within a matter of minutes after handing my keys over, he walked back in the waiting area to tell me that the problem has been fixed.  When I asked how much it would cost for taking the door panel off and fixing whatever was wrong with the locks, I was told that there was NO charge.  They fixed something that was not even their fault for FREE.  Where else can you get that kind of service in the bay area?  The whole process took less than 15 or 20 minutes max.   I wrote this update to acknowledge Gava's Auto Body of the excellent work and customer service that they provide to customers.  I highly recommend this place if you are looking for an honest body shop with expeditious service and high quality workmanship.

    5.0 star rating
    7/23/2009 Previous review
    If I had to describe Gava's Auto Body in three words, it would be QUALITY, EFFICIENCY, KINDNESS and… Read more
    5.0 star rating
    6/27/2009 Previous review
    Once again, Gava's Autobody exceeded my expectations.  This time, it was my mother who needed their… Read more
    5.0 star rating
    9/29/2008 Previous review
    Superior service and quality!!  My Integra got rear ended and sandwiched between two cars on the… Read more
  • 5.0 star rating
    11/28/2012

    Yay! there that good. Use these guys. They are great.
    My husband got in an accident 15,000 dollars of damages
    in 3 weeks the car was as good as new.

    THANKS GUYS!

  • 5.0 star rating
    3/18/2009

    first of all, big shout outs to SADO and MIKE!

    they helped me with my car that needed some front body work. sado gave me a very good price! kept me notified on what was going on with my car, in his words, "I'll take care of your car as if it's my own" kept me very comfortable since ive had trouble with other body shops charging me an arm and a leg. they gave my car a nice wash, even cleaned out the interior for me!! now That's service. mike was more than happy to give me a ride back to work so,fixing  my problem on how i was going to get back on time!

    thanks GAVA's AUTO BODY!

  • 5.0 star rating
    6/8/2009

    Great customer service!  Needed to replace my side mirror and they ordered one from Toyota right away.  Unfortunately... it took them 4 days to get it instead of 1 (not their fault) but Sado kept me updated and remembered me when I called back to provide information/see if I could bring my car in.

    Once the part came in the repair took less than a day.  They dropped me off at and picked me up from work too!

  • 5.0 star rating
    7/15/2010

    Chris and Gava ROCKS!!! Had my car service there couple months ago, which they did a great job.

    I recently lost a tiny piece of flap on my car's bumper and have to order a new one that's not pre-painted... took it to them and Chris said he will take care of it in a day, no sweat!!! And I asked, how much? He said "Don't worry about it, no charge". Now, that's is what I call "World Class customer service".

    As mentioned by others, go to GAVAS and you won't be disappointed.

  • 5.0 star rating
    4/8/2011

    Brought my '95 supra in for an estimate...Left 10 minutes later with a big smile. In the sunlight they found it was a simple fix,took care of it and i was out in a hurry. The crazy part is, they wouldnt take any money?!?! Thanks Amy & crew! I  highly recommend their shop for your autobody needs! Good, fast, & courteous service.

  • 5.0 star rating
    9/13/2008

    Brought in a front and rear lip in for painting, it took a couple of days and the paint was right on. +1 for Gava's

  • 5.0 star rating
    12/24/2008 Updated review

    GAVAs is like BOTOX for your car ...

    It always seemed so intimidating to me to walk into an auto shop when I realize that I'm at such an information/leverage disadvantage compared to the guy in the blue overalls. Courts and lawyers aside, once I leave the keys, there's really not much preventing me from getting ripped off or not getting what I paid for except for one thing--PRIDE.

    The guys at GAVA are maestros at what they do, and what they do is to make your car look like new. But what separates them from the other 50 body shops on San Mateo Ave is the Pride they take in their work. I can really appreciate people who aren't just in it for the money, and that's why it's just so natural for me to deal with GAVA's.

    After I got a quote for the initial estimate and left my Acura RSX-S with them, they found additional dings and scratches (after removing the door panel) and fixed them without charging extra. They also did some additional color-matching (again without extra charge) and even re-bolted the rear spoiler for me (previous owner had just used double-sided tape). The crew ended up spending a lot more time on my car than what they initially charged me for JUST TO MAKE THINGS RIGHT.

    That's Pride.

    I've only dealt with GAVA a few times, but they treated me like family and they will treat you like family too, unless you're one of those really annoying Picky-yet-Cheap people who will spend 10 minutes haggling for $1 off your $12 haircut. In that case, don't go to GAVA's Auto Shop and don't waste their time.

    Stop worrying about whether your auto body work will be done right (and yes, EVERYONE can tell if your color is mis-matched) or about getting a call a day later notifying you about a $500 additional charge for some "newly" discovered damage. If you want to deal with auto body pros who take Pride in their work and will earn your trust ...

    Go to GAVA's!

    And no they didn't pay me to write this, although I did ask them for a GAVA's license plate holder. Come on, Chris and Sado, don't hold out on me!

    Go to GAVA's!

    5.0 star rating
    10/14/2008 Previous review
    I came in here to get an estimate for the body damage on my car. Sado, the shop manager, was prompt,… Read more
  • 5.0 star rating
    7/1/2009

    Great, friendly service from Sado and Chris. They will take care of you and your vehicle like nobody else.

  • 5.0 star rating
    1/22/2012

    They are always helpful and have my car finished on time if not earlier than promised. Have been going here for over 20 years and continued when Chris took over. Chris has added the next level of customer satisfaction and continues to make the customer his first priority.

  • 5.0 star rating
    10/3/2012

    I was very happy with the seamless service, respectful attention and quality work they did at Gava's Auto Body.

    The whole process was painless from beginning to end and the folks there were friendly, informative and consummate professionals.

  • 5.0 star rating
    7/2/2007

    Highly recommended!

    I recently had a car accident and brought my car to Gava's Auto Body. I knew nothing about Gava's--it was part of my insurance company's "Direct Repair Network."

    I was thoroughly delighted with the service. My car was repaired completely, of course, and. since Gava's detailed the car as well as repaired it, it looks amazingly brand new--that is, much better than before I had the accident (not bad for  five-year old car).

    Chris handled the entire experience and was really nice about explaining what needed to be done and how long it would take, then following up, letting me know exactly when my car was ready. It was a completely hassle-free experience, and, because of how nicely my car turned out, in some ways, a surprisingly good one.

    I'd highly recommend Gava's Auto Body to anyone!

  • 5.0 star rating
    7/11/2007

    Highly recommended! They are fast, good price, reliable, and very good customer service. The car came back looking amazing. In fact, it looked even better than before the accident!

  • 5.0 star rating
    5/7/2008

    My car got hit and I needed a place to get the dent fixed.  I found Gava's autobody from this site after reading all the positive reviews.  Just from talking to Sado on the phone initially, I knew that I have found the right place.  I basically needed someone to just take care of everything and that is what he did.  He took the pictures and e-mailed them to the insurance.  He also faxed the estimate to the insurance company.  He even called Enterprise and arranged to have me picked up for a car rental.  He promised to get my car fixed within three days and he delivered.  My car looked amazingly good, like it did when it was new!  Gava's autobody is great  and I  definitely recommend it.

  • 5.0 star rating
    5/27/2009

    Unreal quality of service! Chose this place because of the yelp reviews I saw and wow - it sure held up its reputation! If you're looking for people who treat every car like their own, I can highly recommend Gava's. Very reasonable pricing and very high standards of work.

  • 5.0 star rating
    2/15/2012

    The front bumper of my 2003 Honda Civic needed to be replaced and I found really great Yelp reviews for Gava's. I worked with Ian and the customer service was great, the price was reasonable and they were able to repair and paint my car in one day. I hope I don't have more auto body repairs any time soon, but if I do I will definitely come back. My car looks shiny and new!

  • 5.0 star rating
    6/11/2012

    My car had a hit and run on my driver's door and quarter panel and i got it fixed at another autobody shop, and i wasnt very happy with it. I went to Gava's autobody for a second opinion. I went there last Thursday and Ian Palmer helped me [he is super friendly (explained what an overspray is) =]. He said there's overspray on the side that was not painted and that my gas cover color did not match the rest of the body. They removed the overspray for me and advised me to go back to get my gas cover color fixed.

    I should've taken my car to Gava's for repairs in the first place. I would recommend all my family and friends to come here if they ever need any autobody done. They are all very professional and most importantly they know what they're doing.

  • 5.0 star rating
    3/10/2010

    My g/f was driving my Mercedes Benz and ran a red light and was t-boned really hard on the left side. The whole side was messed up from the front fender all the way to the rear bumper air bags off and everything.

    Anyway. I looked on yelp and yahoo to try to find a body shop in the area close to my work. I found on yelp that gava's auto body was right down the street and had raving reviews. I decided to try them out. The car was so far away and i didn't want deal with the towing and the storage fee's from the tow but i called Chris Wu at gava's and he said he would take care of everything and just needed a claim number. I showed up the next day to get stuff outta my car and he already contacted the insurance company and there was a free rental car waiting for me when i got there. I couldn't believe the cost was $16,000 in repairs!

    About 2 weeks later my car was done and i went to go pick it up. The car was fully detailed. Even the little orange spots that were all over my car which looked like rust all over the car was gone. The inside of my car was spotless. The car looked awesome.. Definitely recommend this shop and I will go back for all my accident needs. Hopefully not in the near future but you never know.

  • 5.0 star rating
    5/21/2010

    I'd read the other yelpers' reviews before taking my SUV to the shop for repairs to the bumper.  I was impressed by the 5-star ratings given by others.  The reviews were absolutely true.  This is definitely a 5-star auto body shop.  

    Without me asking, Amy had offer to reserve a rental car for me before I dropped off my car.  The rental car was waiting for me when I arrived.  Chris Wu, the estimator, greeted me upon my arrival, & some of the paperwork was already done before my arrival.  Hence, the process was easy & quick.

    My car was in the shop on Monday morning and the car was repaired and ready by late Tuesday afternoon.  

    The repair job was excellent.  The colors matched perfectly.  And, Gava washed my car and vacuum the interior, and cleaned the wheels.  The car looked like it just came out from the showroom!  I had just gotten back from Tahoe the day before I dropped off the car for repairs.  The car was dirty, with dead bugs all over the front end.  This is typically after a Tahoe trip.  I didn't have time to wash the car before driving it to Gava's.  So, Gava's saved me at least an hour's time by cleaning my car inside & out.

    Wow! Great service.  Thank you Chris and Amy.

  • 5.0 star rating
    1/7/2011

    I recently took my 2010 Audi to Gava's after someone hit my passenger side door and left a pretty deep gouge in it.

    The car was repaired perfectly and on time.  I spent an hour in my garage trying to see if I could tell where it was painted and couldn't tell where the damage ever was or where the painting started or ended and my car is pretty much brand new.  There was no overspray or any indication at all that there had ever been a repair.  Then even fixed some minor chips on my hood and left me touch up paint and cleaned the car.

    Fantastic service, no problem at all recommending them

  • 5.0 star rating
    7/8/2011

    Fantastic. My car came back looking amazing. They cleaned inside an out in addition to an amazing job with my bumper. They were willing to work with my budget too.
    Also, they provide a sweet pick up/drop off service that picked me up from pacifica and took me to san bruno.

    If you need body work dont hesitate, go to Gava- theyre great.

    Oh, did i mention that they are really friendly too?

  • 5.0 star rating
    9/21/2011

    Hassle free, insurance payed for it all and the car looks better than it ever did. Excellent customer service and a really nice waiting room with a cool salt water reef tank. Spoke with the boss directly during the process and he seemed like a great guy.

    If I have the option I will definitely choose these guys for any future body work.

  • 5.0 star rating
    1/21/2010

    I took my Saab here after running into the back of a truck. I chose Gava after taking the car around to the other top rated auto body shops in SSF/San Bruno. Not only were they the cheapest they gave amazing service. I worked with Tim who went out of his way to keep the costs down as I was paying cash myself. Not only was the car done on time despite the local Saab dealership doing their best to slow things down, but it was all finished to an incredible standard. They even cleaned the car inside and out - it hadnt looked as good since it came out of the showroom nine years ago!! Cant say enough about their professionalism and service ethos. Would heartily recommend.

  • 5.0 star rating
    10/30/2009
    Listed in Local Service

    Found Gava's auto body shop from Yelp based on the raving yelper's reviews and the 5-star rating, plus the free rental car. It turned out to be everything as the other reviewers said; thanks yelp! Good service, great price. Getting into a car accident is an unpleasant experience already, but they make it pretty painless to go through the repair process. Thanks to Sado, who gave me a price that totally beated my insurance's estimate as I mentioned yelp and the free rental. Thanks to Tim, who called to keep me informed on the process and helped negotiated an acceptable price with the Dent Pro guy to fix the dent on my front hood. Three days later I went back, and my BMW looked brand new, as of nothing had happened (I got into a fender bender so the front bumper cover got scratched up and dented a little). Also their work is guranteed for life. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who needs help.

  • 5.0 star rating
    2/25/2009

    I must say these guys are awesome!  My Infiniti FX45 was broken into and inside trashed.  Ameriprise sent me a list of 4 other body shops that I checked out on Yelp(thanks Yelp!)    All reviews where a hit or miss.  Some said they where great others not so happy.  Then I recalled that I used Gava's on my wife's car when it had the previous owners and was happy with the work.  So I went there and the new owner Chris was great.  Sado helped me and I could not have been happier with the service and the work that they did on my BLACK car.  When I picked it up it really felt like I was picking up my car off the showroom floor.  They had to repaint the driver door, the back truck, replace the leather seat cover on the passenger side, center console replacement, and took door dings out of right passenger door.  The black was amazing and I felt like I had a new car.  I actually was almost happy my car was broken into because now it looked better than ever!  I had a mobile glass company replace the driver side window that was smashed and they auto close function was not working.  The guy told me to drive around some and it should reset itself.  Over a week later still not closing right.  Gava's team reset the window and told me that there was a button that needed resetting.  I would've thought the glass company should've known that!   Thanks Guys, you truly deserve the 5 star rating here on YELP.  I would not hesitate to do business here again, but lets hope I won't have to in the near future.

  • 5.0 star rating
    1/3/2013

    Gava's truly is as good as it gets!  This is the 2nd time we've been here and they do the most excellent work.  You are feeling all stressed out about your car and all the fall-out and pain of being in an accident, but they just take the best care of you.  The entire front end of my hybrid Escape was crumpled - but it looked and drove like a dream when it left their shop.  I bought it used, but when I got it back from Gava's it was better than ever!  It's like it just rolled off the factory floor! A big shout-out to their amazing car crew: Juan, Victor, Jesse, and Alan - you guys are the best! Ian made sure every little detail was handled before I even thought to ask.  There was no stress and they worked smoothly and efficiently with my insurance company, keeping me in the loop the whole way.   It is obvious that everyone at Gava's takes great pride and care in their work!  Thank you so very much!

  • 5.0 star rating
    4/21/2009

    Thanks to my fellow yelpers, I found Gava's Auto Body. They are the best. My car was hit not once but twice by an 80 year old man who should not be driving.. My 1st thought was call my acura guys... they referred me to body shop in Serramonte which they claimed did all their body work... Thanks goodness I decided to check Yelp... this so called body shop in Serramonte was averaging one star! No way was I going to let a one star work on my car. I decided I better check out Yelp and based on Yelper reviews I found GAVA.  Sado and Mike is the best. They had my car for 17 days, but through it all, Sado called me every couple of days to give me an update on the car. In addition, Sado listened to my concerns... car needed an alignment after the 'bang up' job by the 80 year old geezer... car also needed a new door and then some..... making sure the electrical worked.....after a $7000 facelift, my 9 year old car looked brand new....these guys also detailed my car....not a piece of dust was left after they were done! Both inside and outside was spankin' brand new... I almost thought I got a new car......Thanks GAVA...

  • 5.0 star rating
    9/23/2012

    I totaled my car. Brought it in to Gavas. They offered to drive me to get a rental, but I found my own way there. Within 24 hours they let me know the extent of the damage and I was going to get a payout thru my insurance company. Great service, even though no repairs were done they were awesome and efficient. Thank you!

  • 5.0 star rating
    9/20/2010

    Highly recommended! AAA premier also makes it good, but the service is superb and the staff is very friendly. Chris loves to laugh! Also, getting a rental is a breeze. My car looks brand new!

  • 5.0 star rating
    11/12/2010 Updated review
    Listed in My Neighborhood

    came back several times in 2009 and wanted to mention that I am still extremely happy with my experience each time i come here. gava's takes good care of their customers. it would be remiss not to mention that chris w. and sado are good folks--i live in oakland now, but they are the primary reasons why I'll only go to this shop for future needs.

    5.0 star rating
    4/11/2008 Previous review
    i needed some minor repair done on my passengar side bumper after a little mishap in tahoe. gava's… Read more
  • 5.0 star rating
    5/7/2008

    I haven't even gotten my car back, but I'm loving Gava's.  They are so nice, and fair, and professional.  Sado Rocks!

  • 5.0 star rating
    10/30/2008

    My car was the victim of a drunk hit and run driver. Everyone who saw the damage on my car immediately assumed the car was totalled. My car is a 93 Civic. I took it to a authorized Honda dealership and they told me it was totalled. I then decided to have my car towed to Gava's Auto Body and they gave me a completely different story. I told Sado, the shop manager, that I didn't want to have my car labelled as a total. I wanted it fixed. He worked really diligently with my insurance company and was not only able to fix my car he essentially transformed it into a car in great condition. Sado would call me almost daily to give me updates. I never got a single machine when I called them and they were always friendly and honest. I have gone to other body shops and got half ass work done on my car because it is an older make. Sado and the great technicians who worked on my car treated it as if they were working on a brand new Mercedes. I highly recommend Gava's Auto Body for any body or suspension work. They know how to deal with pesky insurance companies and help diffuse the already stressful situation of a car wreck. Extremely highly recommended!

  • 5.0 star rating
    7/23/2009

    Words can't explain how grateful I am for the work Chris and his team put into my car (sorry it took so long to write this review). My boyfriend dented my side fender on my 2005 grey Maxima last holiday season. After reading the Yelp reviews, we decided to take it to Gava's. They were super friendly and did a wonderful job on my car for a very decent price. They didnt once try to haggle me about the price. The best part is I took it back a couple times when i noticed some new scratches on my car and they removed the scratches free of charge and washed and waxed my car for free both times! My boyfriend was so happy with the job they did with my car, he took his BMW m5 there to fix a couple scratches and they did it free of charge as well! These guys are great! They will never rip you off. You won't regret taking your car here. They are the best!

  • 5.0 star rating
    9/17/2009

    Take your Car there, you won't be disappointed, I had a Honda that got damaged on the street, they wanted my business and took care of me, I have to say they have really great service, took care of the Rental Car pickup, also washed and cleaned my car inside and out. I drove from San Mateo to take my car there and I was not disappointed, these guys are awesome.

  • 5.0 star rating
    12/16/2009

    They rule. And they were very careful to not move the child seat that I'd just paid someone to install because I'm too technically inept to install it myself. The car looked great and as a bonus they washed it, which it desperately needed, making it look better than before I got rear ended. I just was rear ended again (why does this keep happening to me while I'm minding my own business at a stop light?) and I'm looking forward to seeing Sado again very soon.

  • 5.0 star rating
    7/11/2011

    I usually do not write reviews (ever), but Gava deserves one.  I had two different work done on my car from two different accidents and Gava was exceptional in all aspects.  They informed me of the entire process and set realistic expectations about how long the job would take.  The customer services was top-notch and felt there was very little participation on my part.  I've had three prior autobody work done with other shops and they were all nightmares (e.g. cost, delays, etc.).  Chris and Amy were awesome throughout the whole process!

  • 5.0 star rating
    12/14/2011

    Probably not the cheapest around but the guys are great to deal with and they do excellent work. Wouldn't really want to take my car anywhere else.

  • 5.0 star rating
    8/2/2012 Updated review

    The guys at Gava's are great, especially Ian.  I was in a car accident that did pretty good damage to my front drivers side.  Mirror was hanging, fender, bumper, headlight, etc.  Gava's got my bill down from $3500 to $2550 just by searching for parts that weren't manufacturers original.  I've also had time when I've had a ding or scratch and they have given it a quick fix at no charge.  They also gave me some paint for my car.  I am on a very limited income and they always help me out.  This time they kept the car 1 day longer that they had originally told me, but hey, these guys have always treated me very fairly.  I highly recommend them!

    5.0 star rating
    9/21/2011 Previous review
    I took my car into Gava's just to have them take a look at it.  It had some marks on it from either… Read more
  • 5.0 star rating
    9/8/2012

    Brought my car in to do some minor body repair and replace a windshield.  Great service and great staff.  They guarantee their work.  Saw a few flaws on part of the paint job and the windshield had a distortion.  Took it back after 2 weeks, and they redid the paint job and windshield.  First time I have ever come across a shop that went out of the way to make sure the job was done right.  Only downside is the hours they are open, but other than that, would definitely take my cars there in the future and recommend them to all my friends.  Thanks Gava!

  • 5.0 star rating
    4/25/2008

    They did a great job on my minivan.  I hit a post in a gas station (it's amazing how fast those posts move when you're not looking) and now it's as good a new.

  • 5.0 star rating
    2/17/2010

    Great guys!  I backed into a snow bank up at Tahoe and knocked one side of my Corolla's bumper off its mounts.  I took it here and one of the guys from behind the counter came out and replaced some pins and reconnected the bolt.  It was fixed in 20 minutes and the best part is they didn't charge me at all.  They saved me a $300 bumper replacement!  Solid customer service like this is hard to find.  This is a well run business.

  • 5.0 star rating
    4/12/2011

    Amy in Customer Service was fantastic! I went in for an estimate on Saturday morning, left the car that morning and picked up the repaired car on Monday afternoon.  They did a great finish job at a cost 25% lower than the next best estimate.  Great people to work with..

  • 5.0 star rating
    4/28/2011

    I have to give them 5 star, Everyone in the shop is nice and professional.  took my car to fix my driver's side door.  They did a spectacular job fixing the dents and repainting it, looks like new and almost perfect.  They even pick you up and drop you off and detail your car.

  • 5.0 star rating
    3/17/2012

    I hit my 06 Charger into a pole and took it to Gava's they did a great job and even drove out to Fremont to replace my custom grill I got. They dropped off the car to me as well. They are very professional and Ian is real easy to talk to. If you have a accident go to Gava's !!!!!

  • 5.0 star rating
    3/23/2012

    Wow, out of the 5 body shops i visited, it is arguably the friendliest and most professional. Chris detailed the work needed during the estimation. when shopping for things that are foreign to me, price usually is the measurement of  quality, so to my suprise gava's quote was the second cheapest. Nevertheless, I choose Gava's. Quite frankly price wasn't an issue knowing that somebody else paid the bill.  Despite that, my encounter with chris had me sold. Glad I did. My car was done as promised. On top of that, they did an amazing job.  Thanks.

  • 5.0 star rating
    6/28/2012

    Had a problem with the clear coat on my 2006 Honda Civic, but that is another problem.  Gava's did a stellar job.  Good and fair price, great job, and in and out in 48 hours.  Cleaned and detailed the whole car.  Chris, the owner, is a great person to work with.  Quality and fair

  • 5.0 star rating
    9/6/2007

    Highly recommended!  Great service!  They kept me updated with everything that was going on with my car, and dealt with the insurance company and the rental car company so I didn't have to.  Super helpful, and my car looks great!

  • 5.0 star rating
    1/24/2011

    Efficient and quality service.  Very friendly people, from manager to technician.   Comfortable sitting area.  Highly recommend their service.

  • 5.0 star rating
    2/18/2011

    This is definitely a high class operation and I would not hesitate to recommend this shop for great service, super courteous front office staff and quality of repairs.  AAA recommended this shop and I am glad they did.  The repairs were done in a timely manner, the whole procedure of checking the car in, obtaining a rental car, etc was so easy.  Thank you for your great service.  ps the  valentine box of chocolate was a nice touch!

  • 5.0 star rating
    1/24/2012

    Our car had a minor collision and I took to gava's for an estimate. They examined the damage and suggested that it is minor paint bump and they applied some polish and corrected the issue within like 10 minutes. And Guess what, they didn't even charge me for that. Awesome people there. I'm taking my another car with more scratches later here:)

  • 5.0 star rating
    8/11/2010

    Like a lot of women I have a phobia when it comes to anything to do with car repair.  I expect to be lied to, talked down to and  upsold.  Gava's was so far from that I had to give them the 5*s!  After brushing a curb and displacing a small side-bumper piece of my boyfriend's prize Passat I was dreading the ordeal of getting that fixed.  I checked yelp, saw the 5*s for Gava, bit the bullet and called.  The woman who answered the phone was super friendly and told me to bring the car in in the morning.  We showed up at 8:10, she came out to give me an estimate on the damage, then took the car into the back to re-attach the loose piece, with no estimate.  I figured that that meant it was going to be a cheap repair, but I had no idea how cheap.  She offered us fresh coffee, and 20 minutes later came to tell us the car was ready and that there was no charge for the repair!  The side bumper looks as good as new, and the whole experience was pain and anxiety free!  Thanks Gava's!

  • 5.0 star rating
    6/7/2011

    Hands down the best Automotive Body Shop in the Bay Area. I have  brought a few of my cars here and they have yet to disappoint me. To start off, the staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. The shop is very clean and organized. This is what I always look for before doing business with anyone in the Auto industry. I had Gava's do an entire paint job on a car of mine that needed a face lift. They went above and beyond what I was expecting. Chris the owner is very honest and his prices obviously reflect his good moral character. My car came out perfect! Ever since then I have been taking all my cars here to get any work done. I had all the dents removed on one car and had it detailed. The car looked brand spanking new again!!! Another car of mine got scratched pretty severely on the rear quarter panel. Gava's resprayed the quarter panel until the paint matched the rest of the car perfectly, without any blending involved. This, from what I understand, is really hard to do with a custom color, especially white. Every time I have taken a car here it goes into the shop right away and has always been finished BEFORE the promised date. Hands down, I can't imagine getting such good service anywhere else.  Thanks Gava's and all of the team there which makes it possible for this type of work to still exist. I look forward to doing future business with you. Thanks again!

  • 5.0 star rating
    3/2/2011

    emailed photo of the damage and got a very reasonable quote.  repair was flawless, on time,  and cost was exactly as quoted.  also advised me of my insurance rights which saved me a few hundred dollars!

Insurance Partners
Gava's Auto Body


Auto Body Burlingame | Auto Body San Mateo | Auto Body Hillsborough | Auto Body Milbrae | Auto Body South San Francisco

Free Car Accident Insurance Estimates


Gava's Auto Body Shop | 1177 San Mateo Avenue, San Bruno, CA 94066  |  (650) 871-6467

Gava's Auto Body © 2012 | Privacy Policy